Report on the 2024 Budget Marine Laser and Optimist Championships

The 2024 Budget Marine Laser and Optimist Open Regatta was a highly anticipated sailing event held on April 6th & 7th and hosted by the Antigua Yacht Club Falmouth Harbour. The regatta saw an impressive turnout of competitive Laser and Optimist sailors, who showcased their skills and sportsmanship over the course of 2 days.

The regatta saw participation from both national and regional Laser and Optimist sailors, including the youngest upcoming talents. Sailors from diverse backgrounds and skill levels took part, contributing to the regatta’s competitive atmosphere.

The regatta consisted of 12 races, with each race challenging the participants’ skills, strategy, and adaptability. Winds ranged from 8-15 knots and was very shifty.

Apart from the racing, the regatta also included social events and informal gatherings that facilitated interaction and networking amongst sailors, supporters and sailing enthusiasts. The meals were provided by Bar B’s Restaurant at the Antigua Yacht club. Special thanks to Heather and her team for their continued support.

The 2024 Budget Marine Laser Open Regatta was a huge success, allowing the skilled Laser and Optimist sailors to showcase their talents and competitive spirit. The event was also inspiring for the youngest sailors amongst them and overall a positive collegial atmosphere was achieved. We take this opportunity to thank title sponsor Budget Marine for their continued support in the development of sailing.

Two new Antigua National Champions in the Laser and Optimist Classes were defined at the end of the event: Ozani Lafond (Laser) and Tyden Jones (Optimist).


1st Ozani Lafond – becomes the 2024 Antigua National Laser Champion

2nd Rhone Kirby

3rd Shanoy Malone


1st Rolo Canal of St. Barth’s

2nd Tyden Jones – becomes the 2024 Antigua National Optimist Champion

3rd Mayor Lewis of St. Barth’s

Laser 4.7

1st Ethan Bailey

2nd Isaiah Tonge

3rd Star Rosekilly

Laser Radial

1st Diego Ewinger

2nd Emily Gaillard

3rd Patrick Greensmith

View & Download Race Results Here

Prize Giving Photos taken by: Santasia Frith

On the water photos from Ed Gifford